Inspiration from Matt Armendariz

Aguas Frescas Matt Armendariz

Aguas Frescas by Matt Armendariz

I’ve got many favorite food photographers that I like to check out every so often & get inspired.  One of my all-time faves is food photographer Matt Armendariz.  His style is really fresh & natural-looking.  The food never looks too posed or cheesy.  Something about his style makes it feel like I’m drawn into the experience of the food, rather than just seeing a stunning photo that makes me hungry.  When I want an escape, I hop on over to Matt’s blog (MattBites.com) & rush into his latest food adventure; eyes wide open.

Some info from Matt that I really have found valuable, insightful & inspiring:

I want to be a food photographer and/or a food stylist. Please tell me how you got started, all the tips and tricks, who I can call for advice and how to make a living doing it.

I’m probably not the best person to dole out this advice. I’m a college dropout who is self-taught and I haven’t gone down the most traditional path.

What advice would you give to someone interested in pursuing photography? A career in the food business?

I’d give the same advice to anyone no matter what field: Love what you do, learn constantly, and never ever ever take the easy way out. Remain passionate. Reach out to people and remain open. And for heaven’s sake be courteous and polite. You’ll go farther than you could ever imagine.

Looking to get inspired, also?  Check out MattBites.com & see his portfolio at mattarmendariz.com.  If you’re on Twitter, you can follow him here: http://twitter.com/MattArmendariz

Thanks for the delicious inspiration, Matt!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Inspiration from Matt Armendariz

  1. I love all the photography in the Martha magazines, the food and backdrops always look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

